a claimed self, free.

“Bit by bit . . . she had claimed herself. Freeing yourself was one thing; claiming ownership of that freed self was another.” -Beloved.

i wish for time to pass…months, years. and at some brilliant moment, i want to look back at this time in my life, smile at a friend, and say, ‘si, bit by bit, i claimed myself. i freed myself, but that was only the beginning. the best part was when i claimed ownership of my freed self’.

i met up with a good friend of mine today. we talked about life, love, work. then we went on to talk about the garden within me that must be watered and loved. the flowers that i am, that need my attention..my warm sun, my breath to breathe from, my soil skin to plant roots in. this garden, which lives within me, longs for my attention.

i want to care for it like the best of gardeners. whisper secrets in its ears of love, joy, and life under the sun and moon. i will share stories of struggle, triumph, funny stories too. i will romance my garden to life. i will take care of myself so that my garden is the most luscious it could ever be. so that i could be as beautiful and bright as i could ever be.

Leave a Reply

